New to CCW > Gun Recommendations

This is a discussion on New to CCW > Gun Recommendations within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello! Obviously I am new to this whole CCW thing. but anyways, I'm 21, I just recently got my CCW. Im not new to guns, ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hello!

Obviously I am new to this whole CCW thing. but anyways, I'm 21, I just recently got my CCW. Im not new to guns, been hunting my entire life, but im new to pistols. I do not have a gun yet, my father has a Glock 17, that ive fired, ive also fired a whole range of other calibers and guns. I pretty certain I can handle a .45, but problem is I dont know too much about pistols to decide what I want to look at to see what fits me best. I know many people will say, see what fits you best, and I know that, I just need some recommendations to what I should look at. I am leaning towards a Glock or S&W because myself as well as my father working for a defense contractor, we can get either one of those at a pretty good price, Which is kind of a pain, because I don't want to limit myself to glock and S&W, but for the price, I cant help but look at them.

alittle about myself that may help.. im not a big guy, 5'10", 185lbs, and i have some small hands.

I like the G30 and G36, but i don't like the small mag on the 36, and mixed reviews about the recoil. any recommendations would be great. but the 30 seems kinda bulky.

Thanks!