CCW permit will be useless now?

This is a discussion on CCW permit will be useless now? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am not a lawyer and did not stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. If you are, or did, maybe you can help ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: CCW permit will be useless now?

I am not a lawyer and did not stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. If you are, or did, maybe you can help me understand this.

A young man I know from church has a CCW permit for TN. He and his wife have moved into an apartment in an adjoining state while he is attending graduate school. They both have part-time jobs there. The state recognizes a TN CCW.

The local sheriff has been told them they will need to get Drivers Licenses for the new state and register their car there. Not a problem.

He also told them that his TN permit is no longer valid with the new DL and that he cannot apply for a CCW in that state for 6 months.

Can someone explain this to me? During this lapse, would his permit still be valid in TN and other states that recognize TN CCW?

Thanks for listening.
    "A gun is a tool, Marion. No better and no worse than any other tool - an axe, a shovel, or anything. A gun is as good or as bad as the man using it. Remember that." --from "Shane" (Alan Ladd) -1953

Distinguished Member Array bladenbullet's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northface View Post
    I am not a lawyer and did not stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. If you are, or did, maybe you can help me understand this.

A young man I know from church has a CCW permit for TN. He and his wife have moved into an apartment in an adjoining state while he is attending graduate school. They both have part-time jobs there. The state recognizes a TN CCW.

The local sheriff has been told them they will need to get Drivers Licenses for the new state and register their car there. Not a problem.