First time CCW with a loaded weapon

This is a discussion on First time CCW with a loaded weapon within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I carried my CCW loaded for the first time in public today while Christmas shopping. I'm new to the whole CCW thing and carried once ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: First time CCW with a loaded weapon

I carried my CCW loaded for the first time in public today while Christmas shopping. I'm new to the whole CCW thing and carried once before, but the firearm was unloaded (I know that's silly, but as I'm sure most of you can relate, carrying a weapon can be a pretty intense feeling that I wanted to ease into). I have a Ruger LCR and carried it using a CrossBreed SuperTuck holster. I was very aware that I was carrying at first, but once I passed my first couple hundred people in the mall without anyone screaming, 'AHHHHH, he has a gun!!!!', I realized that no one had a clue (as should be the case!). There have been several robberies in the area at local shopping centers, so it was very comforting knowing I had the tools with me to protect myself and my wife. This will be the first of many, many times I carry.

LOL, same thing we all went through. I was sure every person I saw was staring at my gun. Each day you carry you will become less nervous. People around you are so busy going about doing what that they're doing, that they have no idea that you are carrying. Enjoy.
    Glock 22, Glock 23, S&W SW40VE, S&W SD9VE, Kahr CM9, Del Ton Echo 316 AR15.

Senior Member Array digitalexplr's Avatar
    It doesn't take long to realize no one else knows or really cares.

Just resist the urge to keep checking or adjusting you carry. Then people will notice and get nervous and start pointing you out.

Concealed means concealed. Don't draw undue attention to yourself unless required to take action.

Congratulations on the carrying. Be armed and be careful!
    NRA Life Member