Weapon, Firearm...I don't get the controversy.

This is a discussion on Weapon, Firearm...I don't get the controversy. within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This was posted in another thread which I don't wish to hijack: Originally Posted by tbmccord I am a NRA Instructor and part of our ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast

This was posted in another thread which I don't wish to hijack:

Quote Originally Posted by tbmccord View Post
    I am a NRA Instructor and part of our mission is to educate the masses, including law enforcement on the proper terms to use. When asked if I had a weapon in the vehicle, I replied: "With all due respect officer, I do have a firearm in the vehicle. Weapon suggests offensive and my firearms are solely for my defense and the defense of my family."
    I'm not an NRA member (though I might become one) and just don't get this distinction. If I look up weapon in the dictionary, I get this:

M-W: something (as a club, knife, or gun) used to injure, defeat, or destroy

Free dictionary and 3 other sites:
    1) an instrument or device of any kind used to injure or kill, as in fighting or hunting
    2) any organ or part of an organism used for attacking or defending
    any means of attack or defense
    3) A means used to defend against or defeat another

If I look up firearm I get:

M-W: a weapon from which a shot is discharged by gunpowder —usually used of small arms

Freedictionary: A weapon, especially a pistol or rifle, capable of firing a projectile and using an explosive charge as a propellant.

It sounds to me that a firearm sure is a weapon and there's nothing about the term that implies offense any more than defense.

Why does the NRA get their underwear in a bunch over this and try and re-define a term? Seems like foofaraw to me.