Texas CHL/CCW inside a restaurant/bar setup like Pappasitos

This is a discussion on Texas CHL/CCW inside a restaurant/bar setup like Pappasitos within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; So, I'm relatively new to carrying and recently went to a restaurant that also has a bar in it. There are no signs posted and ...

Thread: Texas CHL/CCW inside a restaurant/bar setup like Pappasitos

Texas CHL/CCW inside a restaurant/bar setup like Pappasitos

So, I'm relatively new to carrying and recently went to a restaurant that also has a bar in it. There are no signs posted and in particular no 51% sign.

When we get in, there's a wait, so my wife wants to sit at the bar.
    I didn't drink (never do much), and just stood behind her while she sat at the bar.

Is this an issue? When is it off limits for us in Texas? Is the 51% sign the only indicator or does a bar within a restaurant count as a place off limits to CC?

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    The bar has to be posted with a 51% sign, for you not to be able to enter while carrying. So, unless the bar inside the restaurant, has it's own license and is a separate business, it would not be posted with a 51% sign. It's not in the restaurants interest to be a 51% business...

You were fine and could have even had a drink if you wanted to, but I can understand not drinking while carrying...
    "Texas can make it without the United States, but the United States can't make it without Texas!".... Sam Houston

Retired LEO
    Firearms Instructor
    NRA Life Member

If the establishment is a 51% type of place, you can't carry there whether they have a sign or not. It is now a defense against prosecution if they don't have it posted, but you can still be arrested and have to deal with it in court.