Anti-self defense letter to the editor in the Boston Globe

This is a discussion on Anti-self defense letter to the editor in the Boston Globe within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Mods: My apologies if this isn't the right forum. On to the letter to the editor: I'm not sure if this is real or if ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Anti-self defense letter to the editor in the Boston Globe

Mods: My apologies if this isn't the right forum.

On to the letter to the editor: I'm not sure if this is real or if this is one of our guys using hyperbole to make a point, but I thought I'd share it.

Guns, teachers, and self-defense - The Boston Globe

I AM a math teacher at Brockton High School, the site of a school shooting earlier this month.

Current school security procedures lock down school populations in the event of armed assault. Some advocate abandoning this practice as it holds everyone in place, allowing a shooter easily to find victims.

An alternative to lockdown is immediate exodus via announcement. Although this removes potential hostages and makes it nearly impossible for the shooter to acquire preselected targets, it unfairly rewards resourceful children who move to safety off-site more shrewdly and efficiently than others.

Schools should level playing fields, not intrinsically reward those more resourceful. A level barrel is fair to all fish.

Some propose overturning laws that made schools gun-free zones even for teachers who may be licensed to securely carry concealed firearms elsewhere. They argue that barring licensed-carry only ensures a defenseless, target-rich environment.

But as a progressive, I would sooner lay my child to rest than succumb to the belief that the use of a gun for self-defense is somehow not in itself a gun crime.

DOUG VAN GORDER
    Quincy