NY state Non-resident in a boat

This is a discussion on NY state Non-resident in a boat within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am nearing retirement and one of the boat trips I am planning is to cruise the Erie Canal (or part of it) in my ...

Thread: NY state Non-resident in a boat

NY state Non-resident in a boat

I am nearing retirement and one of the boat trips I am planning is to cruise the Erie Canal (or part of it) in my own trailerable cruiser.
    I was a NY state resident until 1972 and held an unrestricted CWP (thank you Wayne County Sheriff), howver, I know that when I moved I gave up that right. (Yes, I do have a resident Florida CWP. The Erie goes thru a lot of, shall we say, very sparsely populated area, and would feel naked without some sort of protection
    So, bringing a pistol is out; I know this. Would it be illegal to bring a smaller shotgun or folding stock rifle? Of course, it would be kept out of sight unless needed.
    Does anybody have an idea of if its legal, and plase try to find something in the state statutes to quote.

2. Remove Ads

Rifles and shotguns are basically unrestricted in NYS except for the NYC area.
    If you are on the canal system and stay away from the lower Hudson River (NYC area) you could have a shotgun or rifle with you. NY gets a lot of out of state hunters and shooters and I have never heard of any of them encountering any problems.

OMO

bosco

I think NYS still has an AWB, so I'd be careful about a folding stock on a rifle. Check the local laws first. And no more than 10 rounds in a mag, unless the mag was made before blah blah blah...
    The more good folks carry guns, the fewer shots the crazies can get off.
    www.armedcitizensnetwork.org - member
    Glock 30, 19, 26; Ruger LCP (2), LCR, Mini 14; Remington 870; Marlin 336 .30-30
    CT Lasers

From a rather out of date hunting regulation pamphlet for NY state.