How much of a bulge is acceptable?

This is a discussion on How much of a bulge is acceptable? within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to carrying, not quite a month. I carry a Springfield XD-40 subcompact IWB at 9 o'clock or a little behind that in a ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How much of a bulge is acceptable?

How much of a bulge is acceptable?

I'm new to carrying, not quite a month. I carry a Springfield XD-40 subcompact IWB at 9 o'clock or a little behind that in a comp-tac c-t.a.c. with a little forward cant. Yes, I'm a lefty... I'm about 5'-9" and 125lbs. *think... toothpick*

There is not a noticable bulge sticking out to the side but what does show, depending how i move, is either the butt of the grip behind my arm or the back of the slide in front of my arm. I never tuck my shirt in and always wear 2 shirts to keep it less noticable. Since it's IWB it doesn't "print", just shows a small bump. I'm afraid 2 shirts isn't going to work once the weather is hot.

I guess what i'm wondering is a small bulge in front or back acceptable? I'm afraid that once it's too hot for 2 shirts i'm going to need to find somehting smaller to carry around. Being a skinny guy is tough :)

Any input or pics of good or bad that anyone wants to post would be appreciated. Maybe I worry for nothing.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array Anubis's Avatar
    My opinion is that a nondescript bulge (that is not detailed enough to be a recognizable silhouette of a pistol part) is OK.

I frequently carry a G21 IWB under a T-shirt and it produces only a small bump like you mention. Same holster, same 9:00, as you use. I have no indication that I've ever been "made", even by police officers that were passing on the street only a few yards away.

Allesi IWB/SOB

I have carried for years... and although we currently have diff. personal frames (I'm 6' 3" & 285) i have been MUCH thinner.