Help me get my wife to the range...

This is a discussion on Help me get my wife to the range... within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First, a little background information: About a year ago, I started getting very concerned with the current state of affairs in our economy, government, etc. ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

First, a little background information:

About a year ago, I started getting very concerned with the current state of affairs in our economy, government, etc. and thought it was time to take home and self defense more seriously.

I was raised with guns in the house, mostly for hunting, and have always staunchly supported the second ammendment. So, not only did I have some good background knowledge, I didn't have any fear of guns to overcome.

While I woudln't refer to my wife as an "anti," she's hardly "pro" either. What doesn't help is her father. The man (bless his soul) moved to Arizona in part because of their pro-2nd ammendment laws. He has proceeded to build himself a MASSIVE collection of weapons of all types. This freaks my wife out.

At the time I was becoming more concerned and ready to start doing something about it, I sat her down and said I had to ask her something. But followed up by telling her I wasn't really asking for permission. I was just making her aware of what I was going to do. That went over fairly well, but did freak her out a bit (memories of her fathers collection, I'm sure.)

I now have multiple weapons. She's not really what I'd call supportive of it, but she doesn't give me much grief about it either (I'll take the small victories.)