Defensive Carry banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

CCW Permit revocation

13K views 50 replies 38 participants last post by  SIXTO 
#1 ·
If you commit a crime that violates your CCW permit, do they revoke your permit automatically or is it still valid until your expiration date?

#2 ·
It depends upon the definition of violate. Did your violation involve not having your ID with you, but you do have a valid permit, or did you commit a felony?
If you've done something to take a permit away...it's gone immediately whether they've actually taken it or not. If caught, IMHO, you would be charged with possessing an illegal CCW.:22a::ziplip:

#3 ·
No felony jeesh, in NC the laws say that they can revoke a ccw, subsequent to a hearing, so if I dont hear anything is it still valid? And yes my permit is valid and carry it all the time. Got in a scuffle at a bar and told someone I was a police officer and tried to calm the situation. Didnt work and got charged with impersonating a cop. That screws my ccw. Maybe I should move to another state.

#6 ·
A couple things.

First, it appears that under NC law your permit is not revoked until you plead or are adjudicated guilty: http://www.jus.state.nc.us/NCJA/ncfirearmslaws.pdf

Second, you're not doing yourself any favor by posting an admission that you carried in a prohibited place and impersonated a police officer on a public website.

Matt

#4 ·
Depending on the state your in, impersonating a police officer may be a felony. If it is a felony your license is definitely gone. Moving to another state will do you no good, the felony conviction will be on your record and follow you.

As to your current permit, did they tell you your permit was suspended? If not I would say it is still in force, until your court date.

#5 ·
In FL, as an example, if a driver's license is suspended for too many tickets or no proof of insurance and the person may not be aware of the suspension.