Leaving Gun in Car During Summertime

This is a discussion on Leaving Gun in Car During Summertime within the Concealed Carry Issues & Discussions forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am fairly new to guns and concealed carry and I have, what I think, is a pretty goofy question, so please be kind. I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Leaving Gun in Car During Summertime

I am fairly new to guns and concealed carry and I have, what I think, is a pretty goofy question, so please be kind.

I plan to start carrying my gun on the drive to work, then leaving in a MOC box in the car during the day (as I cannot conceal carry at work.... like most of the US). During the summer days it can get pretty hot in the car. Does this cause any problems to guns, especially polymer guns? I am pretty sure that the answer is no, but MAN can it get hot inside during the summer.

Thanks.

People have been leaving guns locked in their cars for generations! Should have no problems other than theft of your gun and lock box/safe.
    -Bark'n
    Semper Fi

"The gun is the great equalizer... For it is the gun, that allows the meek to repel the monsters; Whom are bigger, stronger and without conscience, prey on those who without one, would surely perish."

Quote Originally Posted by Bark'n View Post
    People have been leaving guns locked in their cars for generations! Should have no problems other than theft of your gun and lock box/safe.
    Thanks...... like I said, I was asking out of ignorance, but I am trying to learn.

Mic
    I kept mine under the seat in my car when I lived in Arizona, never had any problems. As long as it's not in direct sunlight don't think there are any issues and polymer holds up really good or they wouldn't use in manufacturing of the gun.
    Timid people sleep peacefully at night because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

Molôn Labé!