Ok, I'm still a newbie...question on ammo

This is a discussion on Ok, I'm still a newbie...question on ammo within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was looking at stuff in the gun shop (my favorite place these days) and saw some .38 "shotshell" Didn't think to ask while I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ok, I'm still a newbie...question on ammo

Ok, I'm still a newbie...question on ammo

I was looking at stuff in the gun shop (my favorite place these days) and saw some .38 "shotshell"

Didn't think to ask while I was there, but can I use it safely in my S&W 642 ?

Otherwise, I may just have to get one of those derringers as my BUG just because.....

Thanks
    Armed & Dangerous...and Inconspicuous...

2. Remove Ads

Assistant Administrator
    Any revo will fire the shotshell ammo but that stuff is pretty much ''snake'' ammo as against real defensive stuff.

Shot size is generally quite small - #12 in .22 shotshells and in 38 - not sure but probably still somewhere around #8 - #6 as max I'd expect. Strictly short range.
    Chris - P95
    NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.

"To own a gun and assume that you are armed
    is like owning a piano and assuming that you are a musician!."

http://www.rkba-2a.com/ - a portal for 2A links, articles and some videos.

yes you can shoot it as said its for snakes and not much else

Some of the "Shotshell" also has a plastic sabot to prevent barrel damage or leading. If you use this stuff - make sure it's the sabot style.

The "old style" just had a crimped end that held the shot in, but the shot damaged the barrel and also led to excessive lead accumulations in the barrel. I truly don't know if that old style stuff is even made anymore.
    Richard

NRA Life Member

"But if they don't exist, how can a man see them?"

"You may think I'm pompous, but actually I'm pedantic... let me explain the difference."