Never buy this....

Never buy this....

This is a discussion on Never buy this.... within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to carrying a concealed gun but decided that it was the right thing to do to protect my family and myself. I ...

Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Never buy this....

Never buy this....

I am new to carrying a concealed gun but decided that it was the right thing to do to protect my family and myself. I learned that I should change my self defense rounds every 6 months or so. Today I went to the range and instead of using target ammo I used the Remington hollow points that I had in the gun for the past 6 months. To my surprise the first time I pulled the trigger the gun went click and nothing happened. I racked the gun and fired the next 9 off ok but I can't help but wonder what would have happened if the first time I needed to protect myself and that happened. I'm not sure what to trust now. For the record I just loaded my gun with Spear Gold Dot ammo.

Hmmm, normally Remington's go bang, not click.
    Did it dent the primer in the FTF round?

Quote Originally Posted by Lewis128 View Post
    Yes it did. I could see where the firing pin dented the round.

I will never use a round for defensive purposes until I have fired hundreds of rounds of that particular ammunition to ensure it is going to work reliably in my particular gun.

Semi-automatic pistols can be very finicky when it comes to ammo and I have to know the ammo I choose is going to work every time I pull the trigger before I stake my life on it. Now, that means you have to spend some $$$ because these days, defensive ammo from any brand isn't exactly cheap.

In regards to the failure to fire. I could just be a fluke. Hard or faulty primer. Or you could have a weak firing pin spring or other mechanical problem with your pistol.