How long should you carry your defensive ammo?

This is a discussion on How long should you carry your defensive ammo? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I carry a Glock 19 every day. I don't get out to the shooting range alot because I am a broke college student. Is there ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How long should you carry your defensive ammo?

How long should you carry your defensive ammo?

I carry a Glock 19 every day. I don't get out to the shooting range alot because I am a broke college student. Is there a certain amount of time that you should carry your defensive ammo in your gun before you shoot it all and buy some new ammo?

2. Remove Ads

Not that I'm aware of. I've been storing practice ammo for a year now. The ammo doesn't know where it is so put it anywhere you want, preferably dry & cool places are best.
    SEMPER FI
    Life member: DAV
    Life member: USMC
    Life member: MOPH
    Member: NRA
    Life member: VVA

Senior Moderator
    As long as it looks good it ought to be alright.
    The further a society drifts from the truth, the more it will hate those that speak it...- George Orwell

AR. CHL Instr. 07/02 FFL
    Like custom guns and stuff? Check this out...
    http://bobbailey1959.wordpress.com/

As long as it is clean and dry it will work fine.

Don't soak it in oil or solvent, or allow some sort of corrosion to take hold of it.
    “No possible rapidity of fire can atone for habitual carelessness of aim with the first shot.”

Theodore Roosevelt, The Wilderness Hunter, 1893

I shoot off my carry ammo about twice a year. It's probably not necessary though. Earlier this year I shot some Hydra-shoks from about 1997 I found in the back of my closet. They worked fine.
    "Be justified. Blood may be easily wiped from the sword.
    It cannot, however, be put back from where it came." --Quicksabre

How long to carry your Social Ammo?