Practice vs. carry ammo

This is a discussion on Practice vs. carry ammo within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hello all. First post here. I have been lurking for a bit and just registered. Hopefully some of you knowledgable folks here can enlighten me ...

Thread: Practice vs. carry ammo

Practice vs. carry ammo

Hello all. First post here. I have been lurking for a bit and just registered. Hopefully some of you knowledgable folks here can enlighten me as I have not really found good explanations anywhere on the web. I am new to hand guns and will soon be looking to purchase a sig p229 of some variety...probably an elite stainless. in researching what ammo to use I keep coming across posts saying such things as 'i carry xammo but practice with anything i can get my hands on thats cheap.'
    My question is this: if you are going to carry a specific ammo how does practicing with anything else (unless, perhaps, it is of the same weight and velocity) help you to really improve. imagine a situation in which one is practicing all day long with gold dot .40 180g which tend to have a POI at a specific place when you are sighting. then you walk around carrying 165g. wouldnt these shoot differently? recoil (impact on ability to control double taps), trajectory, etc...
    obvioulsy it would be pretty expensive to practice only on your carry ammo but can someone detail for me the thinking process here as it seems counterintuitive.
    thanks in advance. I already have learned much reading here and hope to get even more.

2. Remove Ads

If the majority of your practice is in the most likely range that you will encounter in an actual incident, 10yds & in there will be little difference. In addition, a majority of it will be unsighted fire.

VIP Member