Ammo differences

This is a discussion on Ammo differences within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey everyone, some pretty obvious questions but I'm a beginner when it comes to handgun ammo (and handguns in general). I was just wondering what ...

Thread: Ammo differences

Ammo differences

Hey everyone, some pretty obvious questions but I'm a beginner when it comes to handgun ammo (and handguns in general). I was just wondering what the difference between +p, +p+, and all other ammo that doesn't carry that suffix in the name? (I know the differences are probably too many to count, but a general idea will do) Also, does grain measure the mass of the bullet or the ammount of gunpowder loaded between it and the primer? And finally, does anyone have any suggestions for what to shoot on the range or plink around with on the farm and what to load for defense? (for reference, I am shooting a 9mm) Thanks everyone, I appreciate it!

-CRL

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    +P and +P+ are (supposedly) loaded hotter than normal factory loads, but I'm not convinved the person on the recieving end will notice the difference. It's more an issue of putting the bullets where you aim rather than how much power is behind them.

A 230 grain .45 ACP means the bullet weights that much. As for plinking/target shooting, I'd suggest the least expensive ammo your gun will feed reliably. Paper and tin cans don't know the difference. Any good name brand SD ammo in 9mm will perform well. Endless threads on that topic. I carry Speer Gold Dots and Win. PDX1s.
    Retired USAF E-8. Remember: You're being watched!
    Paranoia strikes deep, into your heart it will creep. It starts when you're always afraid... "For What It's Worth" Buffalo Springfield