Defensive Carry banner

Federal Personal Defense Ammo - Your opinions please

34K views 51 replies 31 participants last post by  LongRider 
#1 ·
Hi Folks,

I'm curious about what you (experts) think of Federal Premium Personal Defense ammo (Hydra-Shok JHP). Years ago I started buying a LOT of this stuff... for my .40 caliber Glocks (G23, G27) and for my Rugers (P85 MII - 9mm, P90 - .45 ACP). The Glocks and the Rugers feed this ammo flawlessly. The 9mm ammo is 135 grains, the .40 ammo is 135 grains, and the .45 ammo is 165 grains. (I don't have the velocities for each in front of me. Federal advertises this ammo as "high energy, low recoil."

I guess the reason I want your opinions is that I rarely read about the Fed Personal Defense ammo.... relative to the comments regarding Golden Sabre, Gold Dot, Hornady, Corbon, etc......

I must confess..... I'm not an expert on ballistics. Also, I will admit I've never shot a bad guy with a handgun, so I really don't know just how my Fed Prem Personal Defense ammo would perform in "stopping the threat" in the real world. (For what it's worth, I am a vet of 'Nam and did effectively fire the black rifle in combat.)

I prefer not to go to the expense of testing and replacing all of my carry ammo with another brand........ unless someone can convince me that ammo in inadequate.

I appreciate all the comments and opinions you can throw my way.

Please help....... Thanks much!!

See less See more
#8 ·
The ammunition marketplace has gone through an amazing evolution in the past few years, and all of the major manufacturers are competing for our money. Finally the shooting industry has begun to recognize the self defense market and for the most part has reacted in their manufacture of guns and ammo. Stick with major manufacturer, modern self defense ammo and you should be well served. Read the fine print and see if it is rated to expand through various barriers and don't trust just one source for ammo data.