Old Guy has question about carry ammo.

This is a discussion on Old Guy has question about carry ammo. within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; 25 years ago, I carried a S&W Model 19 2.5" .357 loaded with Remington .38 special +P 125 gr. SJHP. Now that Wisconsin has concealed ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Old Guy has question about carry ammo.

Old Guy has question about carry ammo.

25 years ago, I carried a S&W Model 19 2.5" .357 loaded with Remington .38 special +P 125 gr. SJHP. Now that Wisconsin has concealed carry, I still carry my Model 19 using +P 125 gr. SJHP. I bought a box of Hornady Critical Defense .38 special 110 gr. FTX. Of the two, which would you say is the better round for defense? I worked in the Security industry and as a Private Detective and was allowed to carry a firearm, but not concealed. Been retired for 10 years and kind of lost touch with the shooting world until I got my concealed license. Thanks for any feed back.
    Retired Private Detective
    S&W Model 19 2.5" .357

The original point and click interface was a Smith & Wesson.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    I would stick with the 125 grain.

The new Hornady shows good data, as does the "original" 125 gr tried and true loads. At the distances most gunfights take place at, I'm not sure it is much of a difference. I would personally sick with the 125 gr SJHP.

Sent from my ADR6400L using Tapatalk

Neither. The Speer Gold Dot 135 grain .38 Special +P designed for short-barreled revolvers is among a very few 38 Special loads that have performed well in FBI tests from two inch revolvers. Corbon's 110 grain .38 Special +P all copper bullet is another good option. If you want to shoot a hot and speedy .357 load, that's a different story.
    Eaglebeak likes this.

Thanks for the feed back...I want to stay with a .38 special round...The .357 is a little much for me.
    Retired Private Detective