Do Plated pistol bullets expand ?

This is a discussion on Do Plated pistol bullets expand ? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; One of my favorite pistol calibers is .45acp One reason I like it is because even FMJ makes a big hole without expanding ( and ...

Thread: Do Plated pistol bullets expand ?

Distinguished Member Array AKsrule's Avatar

Do Plated pistol bullets expand ?

One of my favorite pistol calibers is .45acp

One reason I like it is because even FMJ makes a big hole without expanding ( and FMJ feeds perfectly 99% of the time ).

I see that several companies sell bullets for reloading / target use that have a lead core with a thin COATING of copper,
    which eliminates leading in the bore, but is much less expensive than jacketed bullets.

Since I believe Bigger is always Better It occurred to me that if these expand they might be an improvement over .45 FMJ for defensive shooting.

I have no experience with these plated bullets , and want to know if they show any expansion when the impact something
    firmer than paper.

-------
    -SIG , it's What's for Dinner-

know your rights!
    http://www.handgunlaw.us

"If I walk in the woods, I feel much more comfortable carrying a gun. What if you meet a bear in the woods that's going to attack you? You shoot it."
    {Bernhard Goetz}

2. Remove Ads

I imagine youre talking about round nose...I don't have the answer you seek. But if you want expansion, why not use a hollow point? They cant ALL have feed problems...
    Spend few minutes learning about my journey from Zero to Athlete in this mini documentary!
    Then check out my blog! www.BodyByMcDonalds.com

Cupcake - 100 pound loser, adventurer, Ironman Triathlete.

Why wouldn't you just use jacketed hollow points?