Lead content in hollow points

This is a discussion on Lead content in hollow points within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey, can someone help me to locate any info on lead content in hollow points? Im looking to get some federal jhp, hydrashok or HST. ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By InTTruder

Thread: Lead content in hollow points

Lead content in hollow points

Hey, can someone help me to locate any info on lead content in hollow points? Im looking to get some federal jhp, hydrashok or HST. I am interested for 2 reasons; one being I ve heard Glock and lead don't like each other, the other reason is if I have a choice of firing lead dust all over the place and breathing it...I'd rather not. I am OCD...I know....lol

sent from my EVO , with Tapatalk

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array ArkhmAsylm's Avatar
    -
    While I'm no expert in this area, it seems to me that as long as you use a JHP that is jacketed to the tip, you wouldn't have a leading issue in the barrel. As far as lead dust or gas, I believe that most JHP's jackets cover the butt so that you really shouldn't have a worry there either.

Experts?
    "Historical examination of the right to bear arms, from English antecedents to the drafting of the Second Amendment, bears proof that the right to bear arms has consistently been, and should still be, construed as an individual right." -- U.S. District Judge Sam Cummings, Re: U.S. vs Emerson (1999)

You shouldn't have anything to worry about. Yes Glocks don't like lead but its only if the entire bullet is lead i.e. your own cast bullets.
    Kahr CW9, Sig Sauer P226 SCT 9mm, Sig Sauer P229 SCT 9mm, FNH FNP .45 Tactical
    "The beauty of the second amendment is that it will not be needed until they try to take it." - Thomas Jefferson