40 cal weight

40 cal weight

This is a discussion on 40 cal weight within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to Conceal Carry and I own a S&W SD 40. My question is what grain is best for PD when in most situations ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: 40 cal weight

Question 40 cal weight

I'm new to Conceal Carry and I own a S&W SD 40. My question is what grain is best for PD when in most situations the Perp is gonna be close. I want to take down the Perp without worrying about a thru and thru hitting a bystander. Should I go light (155) or heavy (180)

You will most likely get more than one opinion on what ammo to use. The following is one person's opinion for .40 S&W.

180 grain jacketed hollow points or the 135-155 grain jacketed hollow points by Cor-Bon, Winchester, Federal, CCI or Remington. All are good stoppers, but the lighter weight bullets have the best stopping power records on the streets.

The real-world shooting database clearly favors the lighter 135-155 gr. JHP loads. I personally would carry the potent Cor-Bon 135 or 150 grain jacketed hollow point or the Winchester Silvertip 155 grain jacketed hollow point (X40SWSTHP). The 135-155 grain JHP kicks less and has higher kinetic energy and stopping power than the 180 gr. JHP loads. The 135 gr. JHP appears to be a real stopper.
    "One of the greatest delusions in the world is the hope that the evils in this world are to be cured by legislation."
    --Thomas B. Reed, American Attorney

Second Amendment -- Established December 15, 1791 and slowly eroded ever since What happened to "..... shall not be infringed."