Cor-BonDPX/BarnesXPB (or "What's the Best 115gr 9mm Hollowpoint?")

This is a discussion on Cor-BonDPX/BarnesXPB (or "What's the Best 115gr 9mm Hollowpoint?") within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm new to firearms & thus am looking to stick with 115gr hollowpoints for now in my M&P9c. I started with the Hornady Critical Defense ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Cor-BonDPX/BarnesXPB (or "What's the Best 115gr 9mm Hollowpoint?")

I'm new to firearms & thus am looking to stick with 115gr hollowpoints for now in my M&P9c. I started with the Hornady Critical Defense 115gr based on a dealer's recommendation and have since read a bunch of posts weighing the pros/cons of them (i.e. the 'it won't shoot thru glass, fiberglass, heavy clothing or forearms vs placement of the shot is more important than the penetration of the shot).

After doing some more homework i came across this webpage by Dr. Gary Robets where the Cor-BonDPX/BarnesXPB round was listed as one of his top ten 9mm rounds and was the only round that was 115gr.

Keeping in mind that I want to stick to 115gr, I was wondering if anyone else had any opinions on the Cor-BonDPX/BarnesXPB round or otherwise had another recommendation for a 115gr 9mm hollowpoint round.

On the chance that anyone does recommend the Cor-Bon round, I'd also like to inquire for suggestions on the best online site to purchase them.

RKM
    If you have to stick with 115gr, Barnes bullets would be it. There are other "ok" choices in such a light bullet, but the winner is easily the Barnes. Being all copper, they're forced to be lightweight. But despite they're lack of weight, they are the best penetrating 115gr (or light for any caliber) choice there is.

I like both the regular Cor-bon 115+P load and the DPX. The Barnes bullet is a good one. You would be well armed with either in your gun's magazine.