Help Needed: SR9c with Speer Gold Dot 147g

This is a discussion on Help Needed: SR9c with Speer Gold Dot 147g within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am a gun newbie. Just bought my first firearm, an SR9c and got Speer Gold Dot 147g. I really didn't pay attention to the ...

Thread: Help Needed: SR9c with Speer Gold Dot 147g

Help Needed: SR9c with Speer Gold Dot 147g

I am a gun newbie. Just bought my first firearm, an SR9c and got Speer Gold Dot 147g. I really didn't pay attention to the grain at the time of purchase. I've looked through the manual and it doesnt mention any restrictions on grain.

The gun has not been fired yet. I loaded the gun up for the first time last night with the Speers and when I rack the gun it has a hard time feeding the cartridges. The slide kind of catches and then eventually feeds.

I don't really know what to make of it. Does the mag need broken in? Is my mag faulty? Should I just go shoot through the Speers and see if the gun performs okay?

It just made me a little nervous as a new gun owner that something is wrong. Sorry if this is a dumb question, but thanks for any help you can provide.

2. Remove Ads

VIP Member
    S. Florida, north of the Miami mess, south of the Mouse trap
    Are you easing the slide forward or pulling back and releasing it. Don't ease it forward, and chamber from a loaded a mag only. Don't drop one in the cahmber and then try to close the slide. It can damage the extractor. Semis are designed to feed from the mag untilizing the forward inertia of the slide.
    Retired USAF E-8. Remember: You're being watched!
    Paranoia strikes deep, into your heart it will creep. It starts when you're always afraid... "For What It's Worth" Buffalo Springfield

VIP Member
    147s should be fine. Do as OldVet says and all should be good to go.
    "Mind own business"
    "Always cut cards"