.380 Winchester 95 grain FMJ- FP for Defensive Carry ?

This is a discussion on .380 Winchester 95 grain FMJ- FP for Defensive Carry ? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Greetings to the Defensive Carry group. I'm new to CC and have only had my Oklahoma SDA license for about 4 months. My every day ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: .380 Winchester 95 grain FMJ- FP for Defensive Carry ?

.380 Winchester 95 grain FMJ- FP for Defensive Carry ?

Greetings to the Defensive Carry group. I'm new to CC and have only had my Oklahoma SDA license for about 4 months.

My every day carry is now a Ruger LCP with Lasermax and I carry it with seven Winchester "white Box" 95 grain FMJ FP's. My main reasoning for choosing this round is for the possible penetration advantage of the FMJ in .380 auto. I've put about 300 rounds of this WWB thought my LCP with not one malfunction.

My question is this. Does anyone else use the .380 WWB FMJ FP for their main self defense ammo? If so, do you have any concerns about
    over-penetration or the potential risk of a FMJ ricochet and injury to an innocent person if, God forbid, it ever had to be used for self defense.

Thanks in advance your replies. .

2. Remove Ads

That's what I have been carrying for mine. I figure if I need to use the weapon, ricochet's and pass through from this diminutive caliber are the least of my concerns. Besides if you hit anything solid like bone I would very strongly doubt it would pass through with a ton of energy left if it even passed through.

Tim Sundles (I believe that's his name) from Buffalo Bore suggests having one hollow point in the chamber followed by a magazine of FMJ-FN's...I prefer to get straight to the point.

Thanks Foo909,
    Having a hollow point "in the pipe" backed up by the six WWB FMJ FN's makes sense to me. I guess I'll get some .380 Federal Hydra-Shok JHPs for that- one in the pipe round.