Lower recoil 40 load ideas

This is a discussion on Lower recoil 40 load ideas within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I know I know. I already have the 22 to use I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas I could try. I'm wondering ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Lower recoil 40 load ideas

Lower recoil 40 load ideas

I know I know. I already have the 22 to use I was just wondering if anyone had any ideas I could try. I'm wondering what you would recommend as a lighter recoiling load in a Glock 23? I'm new to the forty so I'm not as familiar with all the different loads available. I'm thinking for when I take some friends to the range and was wondering if there is any factory loads that are more pleasant to shoot. My friends are not wimps as they shoot a 357 with no problems. The other hard part will be finding anything as most of the shelves around here are pretty bare.

Thanks for any ideas,
    Mark

2. Remove Ads

There are no "low recoil" .40 loads from the factory that I know of. The normal stuff is pretty tame compared to a .357

If you reload the options are limitless - you can make loads as light as you want.

As far as finding any .40 in stock - if you can't find it locally, there is plenty available online.

Good luck,

Austin
    Ghost1958 likes this.

Agree if your friends have no problem with 357 a 40 should be no problem for them.

I find the recoil noticably different with a 180 grain bullet when compared to a 160 grain bullet, not quite so much muzzel flip. I think the energy of the recoil between .357 and 40 cal is similar but the 40 is "snappier" with more muzzle flip and getting back on target is a bit slower for me. I have 12,000 rounds of .40 cal, I'm hopeing to tame the beast. Untill then I carry the 9mm