Reducing lead exposure

This is a discussion on Reducing lead exposure within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am VERY new to firearms so please bear with me. When I start shooting regularly I want something that has zero lead on the ...

Like Tree4Likes
  • 2 Post By bmcgilvray
  • 2 Post By QKShooter

Thread: Reducing lead exposure

Reducing lead exposure

I am VERY new to firearms so please bear with me.

When I start shooting regularly I want something that has zero lead on the outside of the bullet. So something that will reduce exposure to lead from handling the bullet. Based upon my minute amount of research I believe this is called a "Total Metal Jacket" bullet, or TMJ, right?

If I wanted to reduce lead exposure from both firing and handling of ammunition, I should be purchasing "TMJ" bullets?

Is there a functional difference in standard bullets and TMJ? What about FMJ? Does FMJ have lead exposed? From what I have read FMJ seems to have some exposed while TMJ has none. Is this right?

Can TMJ bullets be used in all 9mm pistols? And revolvers?

Again, I really am new to this stuff so bare with me! Thank you.

2. Remove Ads

I can't answer your question about TMJ bullets but I do know that Winchester offers a line of ammunition called "Winclean" as well as Remington UMC "Leadless" line that offers a brass encased base bullet. It's really designed for indoor ranges to keep the exposed lead base of the bullet from being eroded into the air while shooting.

However, I don't believe you need to worry about lead exposure under normal conditions of practice or even sport shooting. As per most manufactures recommend to wash your hands after you are done handling ammunition/before you eat.

Distinguished Member Array Nmuskier's Avatar