"Dirty" ammo and pistol malfunctions

This is a discussion on "Dirty" ammo and pistol malfunctions within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I was shooting my Sig P229 recently and after firing just over 50 rounds of inexpensive Wolf target ammo (.40 cal) the slide froze - ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: "Dirty" ammo and pistol malfunctions

I was shooting my Sig P229 recently and after firing just over 50 rounds of inexpensive Wolf target ammo (.40 cal) the slide froze - it wouldn't go fully into battery, nor could I pull it back. I got back from the range and used some WD40 to loosen the slide, which works fine now/again. The pistol was clean when I started shooting.

I'm surprised that it took so few shots to incapacitate the weapon. I like this pistol a lot, but I don't like that it seems to be finicky with ammo. I only have a few hundred rounds of ammo through the gun (up until my last range session, all non-Wolf), so it's still pretty tight. Still, I'm wondering about how much of the malfunction is a gun issue and how much is an ammo issue. Like everyone, when it comes to self-defense, I want a firearm that fires every time. Any opinions on the matter? Have others had similar issues with either Sigs or Wolf ammo?

Id take it to the range again and try some better ammo, and also run some of your carry ammo thru the gun and make sure it works like it should, and not get hung up, was there anything stuck in the slide or any sort of damage ? to cause the slide to lock up so tight ?? also was the gun cleaned and lubed ?? My glocks run with no isuues when dirty I once ran well over 1000 rounds with out cleaning it during the police academy with no issues... give it another try and see how it works. hope it was just a one time thing...

Make sure the slide doesn't have any unusual marks where it rides on the rails.
    No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms.