Overwhelmed

This is a discussion on Overwhelmed within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; A few weeks ago I asked some questions about reloading. Since then I have been researching the various reloading supply manufacturers( Hornady, Lee, RCBS, etc.). ...

Thread: Overwhelmed

Overwhelmed

A few weeks ago I asked some questions about reloading. Since then I have been researching the various reloading supply manufacturers( Hornady, Lee, RCBS, etc.). My head is spinning as to which manufacturer to invest in. Any input from the folks here who reload as to which manufacturers are better, etc. would be of great help. Thank you in advance.

2. Remove Ads

I'm new to reloading myself, and don't yet have an opinion on such items, but I may be able to help you in one area. I think by asking "which is better" is going to be comlpetely subjective. Sure, there are probably certain pieces of reloading equipment that funciton better than any other brand, to this person, but might not perform as well to another person. I think they all have some quality pieces to offer, and therefore your best bet may be to decide how much you are willing to spend first or reloading equipment. If you aren't sure if you'll like it or even have the time to do so, then I would suggest not spending a bunch of money on a progressive type press right off the bat. Try a single stage first, and make sure you are comfortable reloading. Then step up. Just like any other "hobby" most don't just jump in with the most expensive equipment / materieals right away.

Good luck to you.

Very subjective topic, reloading products.

Here's a partial list of particular likes and dislikes. I have my reasons but will share them only if someone asks. I use other components, supplies, and equipment but may not have a strong opinion about them.

RCBS dies
    C&H dies
    Carbide dies for straight-walled cases
    Rockchucker press
    Remington primers