Factory Reloads are they safe

This is a discussion on Factory Reloads are they safe within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am new to the world of guns and I was looking for 9 mm ammo today, Cabela's had some Ultramax 1st time reloads. Is ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: Factory Reloads are they safe

I am new to the world of guns and I was looking for 9 mm ammo today, Cabela's had some Ultramax 1st time reloads. Is this type of ammo safe or should I stay completely away from reloaded ammo. By the way I was at work, and by the time I got around the firewall and stuff it had sold out so I did not purchase any but should I see it again would it be safe to by. I have also seen some Freedom 1st time reloads and wondered about them too. A friend said a reputable company should be OK but how do I know if a company is reputable.

Thanks

VIP Member
    I'd stay away from Ultramax, although I have no personal experience to base that on. Just do a quick google foo for "ultramax KB" and see what shows up.

Personally I'd avoid any 'reloads' that I didn't reload, but that's just me.
    NRA Life Member

"I don't believe gun owners have rights." - Sarah Brady

Name brand commercial reloads are probably OK... at least there's a name behind them, as opposed top no-name stuff you see at gun shows. Black Hills is the best of the best for commercial reloads, and priced accordingly, but it's great stuff.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member
    NROI Chief Range Officer

Distinguished Member
    It's okay for target practice, but nothing else. I've used it and buy it when I see it. It is reloaded to factory specs and is as safe to use as factory ammo, because that's what it is. Check with Midway USA for ammo. good luck

Black Hills reloads (blue box, white box sometimes) is as good or better than many other brands' fresh new stuff.
    ~~~~~