Best .380 ammo for Ruger LCP or S&W Bodyguard?

This is a discussion on Best .380 ammo for Ruger LCP or S&W Bodyguard? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am fairly new to shooting a .380 as aside from the M&P .22 that I own for training and target practice all of my ...

Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By Spearchuck380
  • 1 Post By pete950

Thread: Best .380 ammo for Ruger LCP or S&W Bodyguard?

I am fairly new to shooting a .380 as aside from the M&P .22 that I own for training and target practice all of my other handguns have been at least 9mm. I am soliciting opinions as to what would be the best choices for self-defense ammo in .380 for either the Ruger LCP or the S& W Bodyguard. I have, in a general Internets search, seen recommendations for FMJ to be sure of adequate penetration, and other recommendations for JHP for bullet expansion. Please no +P type loads as neither pistol is build for that according to manufactures. I prefer to practice with rounds that are near the same in recoil as what I will carry. It does not make sense to introduce a new variation in an already tense situation should actual use become necessary for self-defense.