9mm +P vs Nato Rounds

9mm +P vs Nato Rounds

This is a discussion on 9mm +P vs Nato Rounds within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm kinda new to semi auto's and my questions are; Is there much difference between +P and Nato rounds ? Also if a new gun ...

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Kilowatt3

Thread: 9mm +P vs Nato Rounds

Distinguished Member Array Oldpsufan's Avatar

9mm +P vs Nato Rounds

I'm kinda new to semi auto's and my questions are; Is there much difference between +P and Nato rounds ? Also if a new gun needs x number of rounds to be broken in, would shooting higher pressure ammo hasten the process (assuming the gun can handle it) ?

Two overviews of 9mm, including the NATO and +P variants:

9x19mm Parabellum @ Wikipedia

9mm NATO vs 9mm Luger @ GunNuts.net
    Your best weapon is your brain. Don't leave home without it.
    Thoughts: Justifiable self defense (A.O.J.).
    Explain: How does disarming victims reduce the number of victims?
    Reason over Force: The Gun is Civilization (Marko Kloos).
    NRA, SAF, GOA, OFF, ACLDN.

While +P might induce some small measure of additional stress to pistol components or even batter the gun over time, it really wouldn't contribute to a shorter break-in period. That's not to say that +P ammunition should be avoided in a quality gun. Use it for defensive purposes and shoot enough for familiarization.

I'd rather get to know the gun through shooting it with larger quantities of standard velocity ammunition, obtained for the same price as small boxes of premium +P ammunition.
    Charter Member of the DC .41 LC Society

“No possible rapidity of fire can atone for habitual carelessness of aim with the first shot.”

Theodore Roosevelt, The Wilderness Hunter, 1893

Distinguished Member Array Oldpsufan's Avatar