Caliber Wars - let the gel decide

This is a discussion on Caliber Wars - let the gel decide within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I have been watching ballistic gel tests on YouTube and came across a site called Brass Fetcher. Their 20% ballistic gelatin slow mo videos are ...

Page 1 of 6 12345 ... LastLast
Like Tree71Likes

Thread: Caliber Wars - let the gel decide

I have been watching ballistic gel tests on YouTube and came across a site called Brass Fetcher. Their 20% ballistic gelatin slow mo videos are really eye opening. If ballistic gel reflects what human soft tissue experiences during a gunshot wound, these videos shed some interesting light on the caliber discussion.

These videos are for specific brands of ammo so depending on what's used, ymmv. But the general behavior of each caliber could be generalized by these videos.

I'm not a ballistics expert so I'll treat this as a springboard for discussion and as a tool to help fellow DCers decide on which calibers to pick.

.22LR
    http://youtu.be/pFsDDgztf50

.38 special
    http://youtu.be/6VWDYQCFgic

.357 magnum
    http://youtu.be/Q7w4M-LNXuQ

.380 ACP
    http://youtu.be/Y-h8L0HanK4

9mm Luger
    http://youtu.be/92j3g168dIY

.40 S&W
    http://youtu.be/0Atcbh-ni0E

.45 ACP
    http://youtu.be/Fe6hEcdki_8

10mm (yeah baby!)
    http://youtu.be/8z49Lbnt16M

VIP Member
    DefensiveCarry Concealed Carry Forum - Forum Rules

"9. We have learned from bitter experience that discussions of certain subjects (politics, religion, abortion, sexual orientation, etc) often degenerate quickly. For this reason, we DO NOT allow the discussion of these topics. We also discourage "caliber war" threads and strongly encourage you not to post a thread starting one. Regardless of your level of experience, caliber is a personal preference and what is right for you may not be right for others."