Rotating your Ammo. Does it expire?

This is a discussion on Rotating your Ammo. Does it expire? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hi folks, I'm still new to the game so forgive me if this sounds weird. My question is, does ammo have a shelf life? I've ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree23Likes

Thread: Rotating your Ammo. Does it expire?

Rotating your Ammo. Does it expire?

Hi folks, I'm still new to the game so forgive me if this sounds weird. My question is, does ammo have a shelf life? I've never heard either way, and I know plenty of people who have more ammo than most of my LGS's. The Winchester JHP's currently in my Sig are several years old. Only reason I have them is because they were given to me, and 9mm is still tough to find reasonably priced, and my budget is very tight. Shot about half the box before I started carrying them and all went well, no malfunctions.

Is my concern silly, or justified?

Thanks

2. Remove Ads

Nope. Keep em dry and don't fiddle with them and they'll last years. Decades. The more you cycle your mags and springs and the more you rechamber a round the more damage you do. Load it and forget about it.

Well, I think most of us rotate out about once a year. I don't know if I would consider it necessary, I just do it every year in March (the date on my permit). If you carry in hot humid climates you could feasibly get sweat on it.

I guess my view is that a box of carry ammo is like $20-30. Not that much when you consider it could be the difference between life and death.
    Ianthin likes this.
    My metal band: Born under Sirius

Glock 23, mic holster, clipdraw, abdominal carry.

Distinguished Member Array lionround's Avatar
    I have friends who are shooting ammo they "borrowed" from the Army during the Vietnam War.
    The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
    -- Steven Wright
    1950 Colt .38 Police Positive Special