Hornady Critical Duty - M&P Shield 9MM

This is a discussion on Hornady Critical Duty - M&P Shield 9MM within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; First and foremost, I have been browsing this forum for a few months now and have enjoyed it immensely. Seems like a great group of ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Hornady Critical Duty - M&P Shield 9MM

Exclamation Hornady Critical Duty - M&P Shield 9MM

First and foremost, I have been browsing this forum for a few months now and have enjoyed it immensely. Seems like a great group of people with a lot of knowledge and experience. I finally got a kick in my pants to join the site based on a recent range experience that I thought I would share.

I have always carried 124 GR (standard pressure) Speer Gold Dots in my 9MM concealed carry guns without any issues. Due to ammo shortages in recent months, I have been forced to try alternative brands. Most recently, my local gun store had 135 GR Hornady Critical Duty in stock. I had read some fairly decent reviews on this ammunition so I thought I would give it a try.

I ran a box through my M&P Shield with the Apex carry kit (sear, striker block, spring) and did not have any issues so I bought a second box to use for carry purposes. I carried it for about a month and decided to cycle it again at the range yesterday. To my surprise, I had 4 FTFs from a single box in which the firing pin made perfect contact with the primer. This was very concerning since I had been carrying this ammo for the past month and had trusted my life with it.

Has anyone else had problems with 135 GR Hornady Critical Duty? Is it possible it is specific to Shields?

2. Remove Ads

I carried critical duty in my G22 and had no problems. I would contact hornady and ask for a replacement box
    ”God grants Liberty only to those who love it, and are always ready to guard and defend it.”
    ~Daniel Webster