Question 185 grn .45ACP

Question 185 grn .45ACP

This is a discussion on Question 185 grn .45ACP within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Hey Pards!! Ever since I have owed a 45 acp I have always shot 230 grn ammo. There was a reference in a magazine about ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree9Likes

Thread: Question 185 grn .45ACP

Question 185 grn .45ACP

Hey Pards!!

Ever since I have owed a 45 acp I have always shot 230 grn ammo. There was a reference in a magazine about 185 grn rounds, I think they were Hornady.

What is your opinion on 185grn for defensive use?

Nick

IMHO, either one could work for you. Let's face facts, getting shot with either WILL require several bandaids.
    I would think that the lighter 185gr is going to have a higher velocity and would work better in shorter barrels. I believe that bullet type and make is what comes into play here...I'm no velocity expert.
    I have both 230gr and 185gr in the safe. I have used both in my Kimbers, especially using the 185gr in the 3" barrels.
    I would have no problem using either load in any of my firearms.
    Normally, I would load the 230gr in my present Glocks (I sold all my Kimbers), but I would have no problem using either in any of my Glocks.

Let's wait for the 'experts' to chime in...:
    The last Blood Moon Tetrad for this millennium starts in April 2014 and ends in September 2015...according to NASA.

Certified Glock Armorer
    NRA Life Member[/B]

Why just 185 and 230??? What about 200? 165? 255? Oh! Then there's the plus P variants! I heard something about a 125 also! Kinda light for .45 ACP if you ask me, but whatever. To each his own....

I like the 185 plus P. Usually the Remington Golden Sabre variety. Very good round IMO. Still, I do prefer a good 230 grainer. Call me old fashioned I guess.
    "Those are my principles, and if you don't like them...well, I have others." - Groucho Marx