Newbie ammo question.

Newbie ammo question.

This is a discussion on Newbie ammo question. within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm still new to shooting and am looking for some clarification on something. I picked up a couple of boxes of .45acp Federal FMJ at ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree10Likes

Thread: Newbie ammo question.

Distinguished Member

Newbie ammo question.

I'm still new to shooting and am looking for some clarification on something. I picked up a couple of boxes of .45acp Federal FMJ at Walmart today and noticed a warning about not using it with ported or compensated barrels. What is it that makes the difference? Doesn't matter for anything I own, just curious.
    I'm not saying we should kill all the stupid people. I'm saying remove all the warning labels and let the problem sort itself out.

That's an odd one - never saw that warning on any commercial ammo I've ever bought. Porting and compensators are used to diminish recoil and muzzle flip, and they are more effective on rounds loaded to higher pressures (like .38 Super and just about all the magnum loadings) than on the .45 ACP. The only thing that comes to mind is that ports and comps allow burnt and burning gases to exit the gun at places other then the muzzle, typically 90 degrees to the muzzle. Federal's lawyers may be concerned about bystanders on either side of the gun.
    AmmoFan01 and WrongRecroom like this.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member
    NROI Chief Range Officer

Quote Originally Posted by gasmitty View Post