ammo price question

ammo price question

This is a discussion on ammo price question within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Im fairly new to the firearm/shooting hobby. Purchased my first firearm in February 2013 when there was a ammo shortage. My question is what kind ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: ammo price question

ammo price question

Im fairly new to the firearm/shooting hobby. Purchased my first firearm in February 2013 when there was a ammo shortage.
    My question is what kind of prices should I be paying for ammo? Also what were prices before the shortage?

I own a 9mm & .380 caliber firearm.
    So today in walmart I found target practice winchester .380 fmj for $22 a box of 50. Is that a good price? Average? And how much would that have cost me a few years ago?

Thanks in advance to ALL replies!!!
    gatorbait51 likes this.

"Back in the day", I used to figure on about $8/box for .380. Those days are long gone now, and if you can get decent name brand brass-cased .380 ammo for under about $25/50 that's pretty good in today's market. For 9mm, my take is that anything under about $17 is pretty good (again, for brass cased name brand ammo). JMO
    Ianthin and gatorbait51 like this.
    Regards,
    Jim
    NRA Life Member
    Charter Member (#00002) of the DC .41 LC Society - "Get Heeled! No, really!"
    He that cannot reason is a fool. He that will not is a bigot. He that dare not is a slave. - Andrew Carnegie

If your going to continue to enjoy range shooting an practice you might want to think about reloading your own
    gatorbait51 likes this.

Thanks for ur response, when u mean "back in the day" was that pretty much before obama?
    Oldpsufan and gatorbait51 like this.

Quote Originally Posted by Chasejax View Post
    Thanks for ur response, when u mean "back in the day" was that pretty much before obama?