Can not find 38 Special at stores

This is a discussion on Can not find 38 Special at stores within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Frustrated . Stores around me have tons of SW40 and 45ACP. No one has 38Special. Ended up ordering some on-line. Any explanations?...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree16Likes

Thread: Can not find 38 Special at stores

Can not find 38 Special at stores

Frustrated . Stores around me have tons of SW40 and 45ACP.

No one has 38Special.

Ended up ordering some on-line. Any explanations?

2. Remove Ads

My guess companies focues on 9 and such at the expensive of 38 ... Also 38 is a populare round + more CC carries so more demand ..

You think that is hard try finding 357 bulk for plinking ...
    gatorbait51 likes this.
    "Vous ne les laisserez pas passer, mes camarades"
    I am not a lawyer .. Just a dog typing on the internet ..Spelling media apparatus male portatili. Malo me non reprehendo
    "We're surrounded. That simplifies our problem of getting to these people and killing them."Chesty Puller

Are you looking in gun stores, or big-box stores? I think you're more likely to find .38s in the gun stores.

Also, try the on-line sources like Ammo to Go, Palmetto State Armory, and Streichers.
    gatorbait51 likes this.
    Smitty
    NRA Endowment Member

In the last two months, I have been looking for .38 Spec, too. And I didnt find it either. Just one box in +P, which I didnt want.

I have a theory on whats going on; I think lots of people got spooked about the future of semi autos, and gave a second look to revolvers. Thus, making demand for that ammo go up.

Also of course, we have ALL decided that the ammo supply is no longer secure, so that we keep much more on hand than we ever used to.

Quote Originally Posted by StormRhydr View Post