new firearm owner wondering about ammo.

This is a discussion on new firearm owner wondering about ammo. within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; As I said, I'm new to all this firearm business. I'm still acquainting myself with all the rules and regulations in all the many aspects ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: new firearm owner wondering about ammo.

As I said, I'm new to all this firearm business. I'm still acquainting myself with all the rules and regulations in all the many aspects of being a gun owner. I'm wondering if someone can point me in the right direction of the regulations on hollow point ammunition in New Mexico. I've heard different things about it's legality. The main question I have is, is it legal for me to carry with hollow point rounds outside my home or is it only legal for in home defence?

I cannot help you, but i would he very surprised of you were not allowed to carry JHP (jacketed Hollow points). Many will agree that hollow points are a more responsible choice for carry for various reasons.

Sent from my DROID RAZR HD using Tapatalk
    EMTJosh likes this.

Yes, it is perfectly legal for you to carry JHP (hollow point) ammo in your weapon. At home or out.
    NM is an open carry state, but you must have a license to conceal carry.

BTW, welcome to the forum.

Most anything you can buy at the store will be ok

Distinguished Member