Is this possible?

This is a discussion on Is this possible? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Salutations, I'm a newbie to many things. Recently, i heard of revolvers 'accidentally discharging' while holstered with a cartridge in front of the firing pin. ...

Like Tree18Likes
  • 1 Post By Sbestry
  • 6 Post By coffeecup
  • 4 Post By Kilowatt3
  • 1 Post By subhuman
  • 4 Post By John_W_in_SC
  • 1 Post By Donn
  • 1 Post By PEF

Thread: Is this possible?

Is this possible?

Salutations,
    I'm a newbie to many things. Recently, i heard of revolvers 'accidentally discharging' while holstered with a cartridge in front of the firing pin. Was wondering if anyone has experienced this first or second hand. Should I not be running with 5/5 or should i keep my .357's bore clear when i climb fences? Cuz im in arizona, the sherriff has alot of fences.
    Sleepless in arizona.
    Navydude likes this.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array coffeecup's Avatar
    The older ones without a transfer bar would do that if dropped or the hammer struck hard enough. Double action revolvers for the most part are not prone to accidental discharge.

This is a concern with some prehistoric single-action revolvers, but it requires something striking the hammer. The gun's not going to go off just from jiggling it or something.

Absolutely not an issue with a modern double-action.
    Regards,
    Jim
    NRA Life Member
    Charter Member (#0002) of the DC .41 LC Society
    He that cannot reason is a fool. He that will not is a bigot. He that dare not is a slave. - Andrew Carnegie

it is said that in the old west many carried 5 rounds and dropped the hammer on the empty cylinder to avoid accidental discharge.

for the life of me i can't remember where i heard that maybe even this wasn't true and that they usually loaded all six. might have been a Hickok45 video he mentioned it in passing.