Ever see an "explosion" while watching a gel test? This is why that happens.

Ever see an "explosion" while watching a gel test? This is why that happens.

This is a discussion on Ever see an "explosion" while watching a gel test? This is why that happens. within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; DISCLAIMER: I am not a medical professional. I am reporting what I have seen over two years of ballistic gelatin testing. Quite a few folks ...

View Poll Results: Can sonoluminescence cause tension pneumothorax?

Voters
22. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes I think so.

10 45.45%
  • No I don't think it can.

12 54.55%
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Like Tree52Likes

Thread: Ever see an "explosion" while watching a gel test? This is why that happens.

Question Ever see an "explosion" while watching a gel test? This is why that happens.

DISCLAIMER: I am not a medical professional. I am reporting what I have seen over two years of ballistic gelatin testing. Quite a few folks have asked why they see what looks to be an explosion when watching a ballistic gelatin test. Hopefully this post can shed some light on the subject.

Sonoluminescence

The flash of light you sometimes see during a ballistic gelatin test is known as a sonoluminescent event. Sonoluminescence is the emission of short bursts of light from imploding bubbles in a liquid when excited by sound. Put simply it is a collapsing air chamber that explodes due to a violent change in pressure.

How does this occur in ballistic gelatin?