Help with choosing the right ammo

This is a discussion on Help with choosing the right ammo within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; This might be an older question answered before but I want to ask this for a specific gun. I just bought earlier a Springfield XD-9 ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

This might be an older question answered before but I want to ask this for a specific gun.
    I just bought earlier a Springfield XD-9 Subcompact in 9mm, 3" barrel.
    I wanted to know what kind of ammo would be my best choice for this lil polymer pistol. I really like the reviews I've heard about Extreme Shock rounds but they're pretty expensive for a guy on a budget. So what do you guys suggest to try on both
    1 training rounds (which I plan to do alot) and of course
    2 self defense rounds for when/if it's ever needed

I'm pretty new to handguns the only other one I've EVER fired is an old Taurus model 85 revolver 4' barrel. Thanks for any help.
    P.S. are frangibles and weight a big concern??
    Last edited by Hoozyerdaddy; March 1st, 2007 at 10:36 PM. Reason: added 1 more question

Assistant Administrator
    Personally (aged traditionalist that I am) - put frangibles out of your mind, totally!

I still stick to 124 Gold Dots in my EDC 226 and find them agreeable for price and perceived performance. I am too darned mean to want to spend mortgage sums on so called ''special'' stuff - reckoning that what I carry would if need be (hopefully never) - get the job done.
    Chris - P95
    NRA Certified Instructor & NRA Life Member.

"To own a gun and assume that you are armed
    is like owning a piano and assuming that you are a musician!."

http://www.rkba-2a.com/ - a portal for 2A links, articles and some videos.

For practice ammo just get some of the less expensive FMJ rounds, like Winchester White Box or Blazer.