44 Magnum Defensive Carry Round

This is a discussion on 44 Magnum Defensive Carry Round within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am looking for a HP 200 grain round that will have about 1200FPS or a 240 grain at 100FPS out of my s&w 629-4 ...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Like Tree52Likes

Thread: 44 Magnum Defensive Carry Round

I am looking for a HP 200 grain round that will have about 1200FPS or a 240 grain at 100FPS out of my s&w 629-4 4 inch. If I am going to carry a 44 magnum, it is because I want the extra capability without too much over penetration so not really interested in 44 special. I would just carry my glock 21 with 14 rounds of 230 grain gold dots over 6 rounds of 44 special. I am just getting into reloading for 44, but would like to find factory ammo to carry. It seems the 240 grain GD may be too much as it is listed as a hunting round and was looking at the 200 grain Hornady XTP with a muzzle velocity of 1500FPS. I believe those tests were done with 7.5" barrels which may be around what I am looking for out of a 4". Any recommendations? This would not be my EDC. Just for occasional carry.

Not an expert on .44, but how about Buffalo Bore?

https://www.buffalobore.com/index.ph...ct_detail&p=87

A 180gr .44 Special JHP, doing about 1150 FPS out of a 3.25" S&W, and 1200 out of a 6" Ruger. Sounds pretty close to what you're looking for.
    shadowwalker and BamaT like this.
    "Lots of ways to help people. Sometimes heal patients; sometimes shoot dangerous people. Either way helps."
    - Dr. Mordin Solus

ICEMAN550 likes this.
    Second Amendment: The difference between politicians and rulers.

U.S. Army, Retired
    NRA Benefactor Life Member

4. Remove Advertisements
    DefensiveCarry.com
    Advertisements

Distinguished Member Array Stumpkiller's Avatar
    Upstate NY in the highlands of the foothills
    With a .44 Mag it doesn't matter.