Lightweight 45 ACP Ammo

Lightweight 45 ACP Ammo

This is a discussion on Lightweight 45 ACP Ammo within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I am trying to find info on what rounds would be best for me to carry that would fit two categories 1. being extremley lightweight ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lightweight 45 ACP Ammo

Lightweight 45 ACP Ammo

I am trying to find info on what rounds would be best for me to carry that would fit two categories 1. being extremley lightweight and 2. being effective. I cannot find anything on the internet and I am new to Concealed carry. Any information would help. I carry a XD 45 ACP 4inch.

VIP Member
    Welcome to the forum.

USAF security forces, hmm?

Corbon makes a 165 grain +P load in both their Pow'RBall and conventional JHP lines and a 160 grain round firing their DPX bullet.

Info on the conventional 165 grain JHP +P from Corbon's website:
    SD45165/20
    45 AUTO +P 165 GR. JHP
    1250FPS / 573FTLBS

Info on their 165 grain +P Pow'RBall:
    PB45165/20
    45 AUTO +P 165 GR. PB
    1225 FPS / 550 FTLBS

Info on their 160 grain DPX:
    DPX45160/20
    45 AUTO 160 GR. DPX
    1050 FPS / 392 FTLBS

According to Corbon, the two 165 grain loads were tested out of a five inch barrel; the 160 grain DPX load was tested out of three inch barrel. Strange.

Here's a test with the Pow'RBall:
    http://www.thegunzone.com/powrball.htm

Magtech also has a 165 grain +P JHP:
    http://www.midwayusa.com/eproductpag...eitemid=168239

Federal has two 165 grain rounds in their "Premium Personal Defense" line. One is loaded with their Hydra-Shok bullet and the other with their Expanding FMJ (EFMJ) bullet.

The EFMJ round:
    PD45CSP2H
    45 Auto 165 grain
    1140 FPS / 476 FTLBS

The Hydra-Shok:
    PD45HS3H
    45 Auto 165 grains
    1060 FPS / 412 FTLBS