Carry 2 types of ammo in same mag?

This is a discussion on Carry 2 types of ammo in same mag? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Since I'm fairly new to guns, it occurred to me with all the detailed analysis of one type of bullet maybe having some advantage over ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carry 2 types of ammo in same mag?

Question Carry 2 types of ammo in same mag?

Since I'm fairly new to guns, it occurred to me with all the detailed analysis of one type of bullet maybe having some advantage over another type...

Why not carry two kinds of ammo in each magazine?

I am considering Speer Gold Dot Short Barrel 124 +P and CorBon DPX 115gr.

Would there be any reason to not load one kind of bullet than another and alternate like that for carry purposes?

I haven't shot the DPX, but would it feel so much different than the 124gr +P GDSB?

Or to go 1 step further alternate loading a 147gr, 124gr and 115gr?

If a person can get reasonable accuracy firing the different cartridges, why not play the odds and the 3 rounds you get off vary in strength weakness so you are covered as much as possible for whatever comes up.

Just curious as to the cons of carrying like I describe above?

Thanks in advance.

Dean

2. Remove Ads

um no find the load you shoot the best and the gun likes and stick with it

POA - POI would be different with the various ammo ..Also under stress the different recoil impulses could cause you problems

Only way i would do it would be a Ball - jhp - ball all loaded to the same range of power..

Assistant Administrator
    Bud has it nailed pretty much.

You would need to be confident in parity of performance re recoil, POI vs POA plus - I do suspect that whatever sequence you loaded, best guessing your needs ...... in extremis I doubt you'd necessarily have the ideal mix. Too late to change.