Personal Defense Ammo Recommendations

This is a discussion on Personal Defense Ammo Recommendations within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm a little new to owning a handgun. I've shot several handguns and now own 2 Xds a 9mm compact an a .45. currently I ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Personal Defense Ammo Recommendations

Question Personal Defense Ammo Recommendations

I'm a little new to owning a handgun. I've shot several handguns and now own 2 Xds a 9mm compact an a .45. currently I carry hornady and I bought a pack of magsafe for the .45. I f anyone has any personal recommendations as to good or bad ammo do tell.

2. Remove Ads

Distinguished Member Array 4my sons's Avatar
    I think the conses is any modern "big name" manufacturer is suitable ammo for personal protection, it boils down to what works best for you, Feeds in YOUR gun, has recoil you can manage, and shoots to point of aim.

If you don't hit the target in a good place, it doesn't make a hill of beans what you are sending his way.
    "fundamental principle of American law that a government and its agents are under no general duty to provide public services, such as police protection, to any individual citizen." [Warren v. District of Columbia,(D.C. Ct. of Ap., 1981)]
    If I have to explain it, you wouldn't understand

Shot placement is key. A modern hollowpoint design is a good idea. There are hollowpoints with "old" technology - Gold Dot, Hydrashock - that still do quite well. There are newer designs - HST, SXT, DPX - that do quite well also. FMJ is fine if its the only thing that your gun can shoot reliably and you can shoot accurately. JMO

Austin

You might want to check this column out.

http://www.neiassociates.org/caliber.htm

Thanks for the intel . I read that article and it was pretty helpful. This forum is informative all the conversations I've had with people until now was pretty worthless.