Pistol VS chest mount mag pouches test

This is a discussion on Pistol VS chest mount mag pouches test within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; Or, how to shoot stuff and have fun while fooling people into thinking that you're working: Disclaimer. Do not try this at home, do not ...

Thread: Pistol VS chest mount mag pouches test

Or, how to shoot stuff and have fun while fooling people into thinking that you're working:

Disclaimer. Do not try this at home, do not run with scissors or pointy sticks. I am not an expert, YMMV. Whatever.

The topic of insurgents wearing chest mounted magazine pouches came up at a gunshop counter debate the other day. We checked the Box O Truth The Box O' Truth #9 - Magazines vs. Rifle Rounds - Page 1 and found out that they had only tested rifle rounds. We had some out of service AR mags, plenty of ammo, and a curious mind, so we set up our test. We used an AR mag full of empty brass on top of a bucket full of wet newspaer packed down. The mag was in a canvas bandoleer to hold it all together.

Guns were a Glock 26, 27, and 36. (snubs to keep the velocity down. No point in shooting an insurgent at close range so we simulated distance this way)

Ammo was 124 gr Gold Dot, 124gr +P Gold saber, 124gr and 147gr Hydra Shok in 9mm. In .40 we had 180gr Ranger SXT, 180gr Remington JHP, 155 and 180gr Hydra Shok. In .45 there were Gold Dot, Gold Saber, Hydra Shok, and WWB JHP, all 230 grains. One round of FMJ in each caliber was also shot. As these typically exit a single bucket, they were shot last as a control.