Heard an interesting debate. Any thoughts?

This is a discussion on Heard an interesting debate. Any thoughts? within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; yesterday while looking around the guns at gander (wishing i had the money for the .50 they were selling). i overheard one of the customers ...

Thread: Heard an interesting debate. Any thoughts?

yesterday while looking around the guns at gander (wishing i had the money for the .50 they were selling). i overheard one of the customers and a clerk both appearant gun guys debateing wether .45 long colt or 410 slugs are better for defense. unfortunatly i have no knowledge of these two cartridges but the debate sparked my interest wich would be better for a small bug.
    "Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result."
    -Winston Churchill
    Every well-bred petty crook knows: the small concealable weapons always go to the far left of the place setting.
    -Inara, firefly

Depends

If it was from a pistol like the Taurus Judge, I would lean towards the .45 Colt. Most of the .410 slugs are actually pretty light. I have a bunch of Federal and they weigh 109gr. Pretty light and who knows what performance you get from a short barrel compared to an 18" shotgun. Federals cheap .45 colt load weighs 225gr, Remington lists 225 and 250gr lead loads. There are a bunch of super high performance .45 Colt loads for hunting and such.

Federal Premium Ballistics

The Box O' Truth #41 - The Taurus Judge Vs. The Box O' Truth - Page 1

CORBON Hunter

I'd go .45 LC myself. The bullet is going to be 180 grains or more at worst - likely closer to 250+ the .410 slugs are much less than that. I don't like on the Box o' Truth how he just cuts down a 3" .410 to 2.5"....that's not realistic - or safe. Just my two cents.

Austin

tango-mike thanks for the info.
    "Nothing in life is so exhilarating as to be shot at without result."
    -Winston Churchill