9mm x2 vs .357mag x1

This is a discussion on 9mm x2 vs .357mag x1 within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I apologize if this is a stupid question but i'm just learning about ballistics and have a thousand questions. I've read about velocity, energy, momentum, ...

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 9mm x2 vs .357mag x1

9mm x2 vs .357mag x1

I apologize if this is a stupid question but i'm just learning about ballistics and have a thousand questions. I've read about velocity, energy, momentum, etc. and I understand that shot placement is paramount. I have 2 guns a Glock 19 9mm and a Ruger Security Six 4" .357 / I've found that I'm twice as quick with the Glock on follow up shots and have comparable accuracy with both.
    For defensive purposes if i can hit the target 2x with the Glock 9mm for every 1x with the .357 mag how would this relate defensively? I would think 2 wounds on target might be superior to the one shot with a higher energy load but i've never seen this addressed before. I've been told carry the 125gr sjhp .357 as it's the best manstopper, but again if i can hit at a 2/1 ratio does that even the field?

2. Remove Ads

TRY 9mm in 147gr. it has comparible ballistics to a .45acp !! Don't get me wrong I love my 2" security six for home but my Baby eagle 9mm has GOLD DOT 147gr for carrying .

Comparable to which .45acp load?

TRY 9mm in 147gr. it has comparible ballistics to a .45acp !!
    Um, I don't think that is correct.

I'd also say that is incorrect. Don't get me wrong, 147gr 9mm is my carry ammo of choice, but they are just completely different animals.