Ammo Suggestions for S&W 442/642

This is a discussion on Ammo Suggestions for S&W 442/642 within the Defensive Ammunition & Ballistics forums, part of the Defensive Carry Discussions category; I'm very new to firearms and ammo choices. I am purchasing an S&W 442 for concealed carry, and would like to know your suggestions for ...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ammo Suggestions for S&W 442/642

I'm very new to firearms and ammo choices. I am purchasing an S&W 442 for concealed carry, and would like to know your suggestions for ammo choice. Some people have told me to avoid +P ammo, and to stick with regular 38 special. From browsing forums, it appears that an all-around favorite is Federal Premium, Hydra-Shok® JHP. Do you agree, and I'd also be happy to hear suggestions about Grains/Weight. Finally, I am seeing more posts about HST. It sounds too good to be true: more-effective, less cost. Is it?

I'm not sure why people would recommend standard pressure rounds in a snub nose. Admittedly, +P isn't what I would call "fun" from a scandium frame revolver, but they're not bad.

The Speer short barrel +P is very well spoken of, though I've found it difficult to find other than ordering over the internet. I keep Cor Bon 110gr +P hollow points in my 637.

That's sound advice. In looking around more, I've seen a lot of good feedback on the Speer.

terminal 38 special

Check that link out.
    Current collection: Too many according to the wife...

Ron
    Quote Originally Posted by FallenPhoenix View Post
    The Speer short barrel +P is very well spoken of, though I've found it difficult to find other than ordering over the internet. I keep Cor Bon 110gr +P hollow points in my 637.
    I use the Gold Dots in my 642.
    "It does not do to leave a dragon out of your calculations, if you live near him."

J. R. R. Tolkien